Kendrick Lamar and Kygo on U2’s Songs of Experience

ICONINSIDER — U2 have teamed up with Kendrick Lamar again for their new album ‘Songs of Experience’.
The Irish rockers have unveiled the full tracklisting for the eagerly-anticipated follow-up to 2014’s ‘Songs of Innocence’, which reveals Bono and co have reunited with the US rapper who reads spoken word at the end of ‘Get Out of Your Own Way’.
U2 previously teamed up with 30-year-old hip-hop star on the track ‘XXX’ on his LP ‘DAMN’.
The ‘With or Without You’ hitmakers have also worked with Norwegian EDM DJ Kygo – who has worked with the likes of Ellie Goulding and Selena Gomez – on the song ‘You’re The Best Thing About Me’.
Meanwhile, Bono recently shared how a “major fright” for his life shaped U2’s new album.
The 57-year-old singer confirmed his bandmate The Edge’s comments last month that ‘Songs of Experience’ had been delayed after the frontman suffered a “brush with mortality” in 2016.
Although the ‘One’ hitmaker – whose multiple fractures in a 2014 bike accident also delayed the record – refused to be drawn on the details, he admitted it shook him up.
He said: “Edge wasn’t fibbing when he said we had to stop and take account of what was going on in the world.
“He just didn’t want to mention what was going on in my world.
“I don’t want to get too into the details of it, for fear of the melodramatic reality TV kerfuffle. A lot of people have these moments, I’ve had a few. Not quite at this level.”
Edge added: “It was serious enough that he genuinely had a major fright. But where that brought him to as a writer was an amazing place.”
Though the record was initially expected to reflect the changing political climate, Bono admitted his experiences made it more personal than they planned.
He said: “The personal and political apocalypse came together. But I think, if we’re honest, the personal elbowed the political out of the way.”
Instead, the album came together as a series of letters to Bono’s family, friends, and fans.
He said: “It’s just one of those moments when nothing else matters. So what do you have to say for yourself? And what do you want to say to the people that you love?”
‘Songs of Experience’ is released on December 1.
U2’s ‘Songs of Experience’ tracklisting is as follows:
1. ‘Love Is All We Have Left’
2. ‘Lights of Home’
3. ‘You’re The Best Thing About Me’
4. ‘Get Out of Your Own Way’
5. ‘American Soul’
6. ‘Summer of Love’
7. ‘Red Flag Day’
8. ‘The Showman (Little More Better)’
9. ‘The Little Things That Give You Away’
10. ‘Landlady’
11. ‘The Blackout’
12. ‘Love Is Bigger Than Anything in Its Way’
13. ’13 (There is a Light)’
Deluxe Edition Tracks:
14. ‘Ordinary Love (Extraordinary Mix)’
15. ‘Book Of Your Heart’
16. ‘Lights of Home (St Peter’s String Version)’
17. ‘You’re The Best Thing About Me (U2 vs Kygo)

Follow us on Twitter: @iconinsider

Tags assigned to this article:


High quality & nature friendly luxury cosmetics from Scandinavia -

error: Content is protected !!